content top
Certified County Commissioner

Certified County Commissioner



Jessica Welch
Office of Communications & Public Services
(850) 926-0919

Commissioner Ralph Thomas Earns FAC Certified County Commissioner Designation

Orlando, FL – The Florida Association of Counties (FAC) presented Wakulla County Commissioner Ralph Thomas with the Certified County Commissioner (CCC) designation following Commissioner completion of a comprehensive study program developed by the association. Commissioner Thomas received the designation with 41 other county commissioners during an awards ceremony held at the FAC Annual Conference in Orange County, FL. “I am grateful to the Florida Association of Counties for offering this training and certification. The knowledge I have received from this program has equipped me with the skills and tools needed to allow me to better serve the citizens of Wakulla County,” said Commissioner Thomas.

CCC certification is not a requirement to serve as a county commissioner in Florida. However, county commissioners may voluntarily enroll in the program and complete a series of courses totaling 42 hours. The coursework is designed to provide information and enhance skills relevant to a commissioner’s duties and responsibilities as an elected official.

“This certification allows our citizen electorate to become experts in county government improving their communities,” said FAC Executive Director Chris Holley. “The 380 graduates of this program is a testament to the importance of this curriculum to Florida’s public servants and our counties”

The CCC program coursework covers a variety of topics, such as county government roles and responsibilities, county government structure and authority, financial management, ethics and sunshine law, negotiation skills, economic development, and effective communication. Completion of all coursework averages 12 to 18 months. The University of Florida/IFAS Extension sponsors this program.

Following are the names of the 42 county commissioners who received their CCC designation in 2014: Earl Arnett, Marion County; Nathaniel Boyles, Okaloosa County; James Brooks, Highlands County; Robert Earl Brown, Hamilton County; Beth Burnam, Hamilton County; Alan Bush, Washington County; Al Butler, Sumter County; William Chapman, Walton County; Charles Chestnut, Alachua County; Rusty DePratter, Columbia County; Jody DeVane, Taylor County; Ken Doherty, Charlotte County; Pat Edwards, Nassau County; Charles Ericksen, Flagler County; Karl Flagg, Putnam County; Todd Gray, Gilchrist County; John Haddox, Martin County; Don Hahnfeldt, Sumter County; John Hall, Polk County; Eric Hinson, Gadsden County; Diane Hutchings, Clay County; Bill Imfeld, Walton County; Kim Johnson, St. Lucie County; Colon Lambert, Hardee County; Mary Ann Lindley, Leon County; George Lindsey, Polk County; William McClure, St. Johns County; Frank Meeker, Flagler County; John Meeks, Levy County; Bob Miller, DeSoto County; David Moore, Marion County; Bucky Nash, Columbia County; Walton Pellicer, Putnam County; Cecil Pendergrass, Lee County; Gabriel Quave, DeSoto County; Timothy Stanley, Glades County; Timothy Sullivan, Lake County; John Thomas, Gilchrist County; Ralph Thomas, Wakulla County; William Truex, Charlotte County; Stephen Walker, Jefferson County; Timothy Zorc, Indian River County.

For more information about the CCC program and courses, visit the FAC web site at For over 85 years, the Florida Association of Counties (FAC) has represented the diverse interests of Florida’s counties, emphasizing the importance of protecting home rule – the concept that government closest to the people governs best. The Florida Association of Counties helps counties effectively serve and represent Floridians by strengthening and preserving county home rule through advocacy, education and collaboration.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *